Mandatory Training

Mandatory Training for Stafford County

Public Safety Personnel & External Partners

Homeland Security Presidential Directive Five, (HSPD-5) requires all federal departments and agencies to adopt the National Incident Management System, (NIMS) and to use it in their individual domestic incident management and emergency prevention, preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation programs and activities, as well as in support of all actions taken to assist state, local or tribal entities. The directive also requires federal departments and agencies to make adoption of the NIMS by state and local organizations a condition for federal preparedness assistance beginning in federal fiscal year 2005. Certain identified Stafford County employees and regional partners that have an identified role in the Stafford County Emergency Operators Plan (EOP) should start taking these courses. IS-100 is mandatory for all identified personal. These online courses are free of charge; a completion certificate will be mailed to you for your training records. Here is a NIMS Compliance Matrix that will identify who is required to complete the training and what level.

Entry Level

FEMA IS-700: NIMS, an Introduction, ICS-100: Introduction to ICS or equivalent

First Line, Single Resource, Field Supervisors

IS-700, ICS-100 and ICS-200: Basic ICS or its equivalent

Middle Management

Strike Team Leaders, Division Supervisors, EOC Staff, etc.
IS-700, IS-800 NRP, ICS-100, ICS-200, and ICS-300

Command and General Staff

Area, Emergency and EOC Managers
IS-700, IS-800, ICS-100, ICS-200, ICS-300 and ICS-400

Please visit the home page of the Emergency Management Institute for further information.

NIMS and Incident Command System training are available online from the Emergency Management Institute: